Student Affairs Staff Awards: Previous Winners

Commitment to Excellence Award

  • 2018-2019: Sharon Bowden, University Health Center
  • 2017-2018: Kristy Walker, University Housing

Commitment to an Inclusive Community Award

  • 2018-2019: Norma Nuñez, Multicultural Services & Programs
  • 2017-2018: LGBT Resource Center Liaison Program
    • Samantha Adair, Disability Resource Center
    • Rosa Arroyo, Undergraduate Admissions
    • Cat Ashe, Disability Resource Center
    • Shannon M. Bowles, University Health Center
    • Kali DeWald, Career Center
    • Kim Ellis, University Housing
    • Michael Husted, Ramsey Student Center
    • Katy Janousek, University Health Center
    • Heather LaBarbera, Student Athletics
    • Rachel Peoples, College of Veterinary Sciences
    • Veronica Pennington, College of Veterinary Sciences

Graduate Assistant of the Year

  • 2018-2019: Ansley Long, Student Care and Outreach
  • 2017-2018: Julia Buwick, Student Care and Outreach
  • 2016-2017: Elizabeth "Liz" Delaney, Tate Student Center
  • 2015-2016: Betsy Collins, University Housing​

Emerging Leader Award

  • 2018-2019: Ben Cecil, International Student Life
  • 2017-2018: Trish Barefiled, Disability Resource Center

Innovation Award

  • 2018-2019: University Housing Assignments Office
    • Kim Felker
    • Jessica Keever
    • Yaminah Moses
    • Suszanne Reichner
    • Jonathan Suits
    • Ernesta White

Lifelong Learner

  • 2018-2019: Taylor Cain, Tate Student Center - Center for Student Activities & Involvement
  • 2017-2018: Fred Reifsteck, University Health Center

New Professional of the Year

  • 2018-2019: Liana Natochy, University Health Center
  • 2017-2018: Danni Keane, Tate Student Center
  • 2016-2017: Travis Brown, Tate Student Center 
  • 2015-2016: Kristin Short, Tate Student Center

Support Staff Member of the Year

  • 2018-2019: Lee Fowler, LGTB Resource Center, Academic Partnerships & Initiatives, Tate Student Center
  • 2017-2018: Tammie Martin, Disability Resource Center

Supervisor of the Year

  • 2018-2019: Lance Haynie, Recreational Sports
  • 2017-2018: Carla Dennis, University Housing

Vice President's Dwight Douglas

  • 2018-2019: 
    • Carrie Smith, Student Care and Outreach
    • Keith Wenrich, Recreational Sports
  • 2017-2018
    • Charisse Harper, Tate Student Center
    • Jennifer Erickson-Brown, Student Affairs Learning and Strategic Initiatives

Legacy Awards

These awards are no longer active

Commitment to Diversity & Inclusion

  • 2016-2017: Rick Gibson, University Housing
  • 2015-2016: chee ia yang, International Student Life

Dwight Douglas Award for Service to the Division

  • 2016-2017: Gerry Kowalski, University Housing
  • 2015-2016: Brian Williams, Recreational Sports

Friend of the Division

  • 2016-2017: Rosa Arroyo-Driggers, UGA Admissions & Wade LaFontaine, UGA Admissions 
  • 2015-2016: Eddie Watson, Center for Teaching & Learning

Leading the Way

2017-2018: Transfer Student Experience

  • Jan Barham, Tate Student Center
  • Taylor Cain, Tate Student Center
  • Allysa Clagett, Tate Student Center
  • Nicole McConnell, Tate Student Center

Leaving a Legacy

  • 2016-2017: Halsey and Lisha Wise
  • 2015-2016: Tom Cochran

Lee Anne Seawell Award for Service to Students

  • 2016-2017: Jackie Minus, International Student Life 
  • 2015-2016: Claudia Shamp, Greek Life

Living the Mission

  • 2016-2017: Student Veterans Resource Center Team
  • 2015-2016: University Union
    • Taylor Cain, Tate Student Center
    • Tory Cutting, Tate Student Center
    • Liz Delaney, Tate Student Center

Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Member

  • 2016-2017: Dr. Jan Davis Barham, Tate Student Center
  • 2015-2016: Beau Seagraves, Office of the Dean of Students

Outstanding Campus Collaboration

  • 2016-2017: Dawg Camp
    • Kyle Anderson, CLS, Dawg Camp Classic City
    • Tony Blasucci, Recreational Sports, Dawg Camp Adventure
    • Jackie Boker, Dawg Camp Fusion (not pictured)
    • Taylor Cain, Tate Student Center, Dawg Camp Connect
    • Ben Cecil, ISL, Dawg Camp Odyssey
    • Josh Fulmer, Recreational Sports, Dawg Camp Adventure
    • Kellie Gerbers, Recreational Sports, Dawg Camp Adventure
    • Eddie Higginbotham, Center for Leadership and Service
    • Miles Johnson,  University Housing, Dawg Camp Adventure 
    • Terrance Smith, Alumni Association, Dawg Camp Fusion 
  • 2015-2016: #OneUGA
    • Carrie Campbell, University Housing
    • Ariella Perry, University Housing
    • Felicia Harris, University Housing
    • Zoe Johnson, Multicultural Services & Programs
    • Jason Wallace, Multicultural Services & Programs

Unsung Hero

  • 2016-2017: Jane Hillsman, Office of the Vice President of Student Affairs
  • 2015-2016: Susan Cowart, Office of the Vice President of Student Affairs

Vice President's Award for Distinguished Leadership

  • 2016-2017: Jean Chin, MD, MBA, FACP, University Health Center
  • 2015-2016: Emmie Bennett, Student Conduct

Staff Awards Nomination Form

Staff Awards

The Student Affairs Staff Awards, given to deserving staff across the division and the University, recognize outstanding accomplishments and leadership in student affairs at the University of Georgia.