Omicron Delta Kappa


  • Applications for the Class of 2020 are now closed.


The University of Georgia Alpha Upsilon circle of Omicron Delta Kappa unites students and faculty who have demonstrated leadership and achievement in the five phases of campus life in the interest of the development of the University through commitment to service, integrity, excellence, and friendship.

Nationally, the purpose of the Omicron Delta Kappa Society is threefold:

First, to recognize those who have attained a high standard of efficiency in collegiate activities and to inspire others to strive for conspicuous attainments along similar lines;

Second, to bring together the most representative students in all phases of collegiate life and thus to create an organization which will help to mold the sentiment of the institution on questions of local and intercollegiate interest;

Third, to bring together members of the faculty and student body of the institution, as well as other Omicron Delta Kappa members, on a basis of mutual interest, understanding and helpfulness.


• Service - to the university and to each other
• Integrity - doing the right things for the right reasons
• Excellence - the highest of quality in all that we do
• Friendship - amongst members - the relationships formed should be as much of a reward of membership as anything

National History

Omicron Delta Kappa, The National Leadership Honor Society, was founded December 3, 1914, at Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Virginia, by fifteen student and faculty leaders. In the tradition of the idealism and leadership of George Washington and Robert E. Lee, the founders formulated the idea that leadership of exceptional quality and versatility in college should be recognized, that representatives in all phases of college life should cooperate in worthwhile endeavors and that outstanding students, faculty and administration members should meet on a basis of mutual interest, understanding, and helpfulness.

The motives which guided the founders sprang from a desire to bring together in one body, for the general good of the institution, all leaders in the various phases of college activities. They were convinced that such an honor society, properly conducted, would offer maximum opportunities and experiences for the campus. It would also serve as a cooperative effort for more effective leadership and service in the purposes, interests, and needs of the institution, and for the maintenance and improvement of the unity and democracy of learning and citizenship responsibilities.

History of the Alpha Upsilon Circle

The Alpha Upsilon circle of the Omicron Delta Kappa Society at the University of Georgia was founded on Monday night April 29th, 1935. The founding group consisted of twelve student leaders and four faculty members, including S.V. Sanford, then the President of the University.

On November 10th, 1937 Dean William Tate was initiated as an honorary member and went on to serve as faculty secretary until retiring from the role in 1971. In his ODK files, Dean Tate described the society as “the most respected organization of this nature on the campus” of UGA.

Throughout its history, ODK has talked of ambitious undertakings, including the establishment of a Student Government Association; enactment of an honor code; establishment of a president’s club for the presidents of student organizations; and regularly hosted student leader banquets, often times in collaboration with Mortar Board.

Following several years of relative inactivity, the Alpha Upsilon Circle is again alive and thriving. With its new home in the Office of Student Affairs, a dedicated membership, and an inspired vision, ODK is once again asking the right questions, establishing ambitious goals, and following through on those goals for the betterment of the University of Georgia.

Indeed, “It is amazing what can be accomplished when nobody cares about who gets the credit.” – Robert Yates


Class of 2019
Andrew Corn
Blake Atmore
Danielle St Amand
Griffin Hamstead
Isabelle Riddle
Ivette Barrera
Johanna Mercurio
Jordan Stout
Katherine Christie
Kyle Patel
Landon Clark
Nina Howard
Sage Royston
Shannon O'Donnell
Stephanie Cannon

Class of 2018
Ashley Reed
Ashton Jones-Doherty
Avni Ahuja
Brendan Abernathy 
Emma Goldsmith
Jessica Ma
Katie Irwin
Maggie Tyre
Nina Reddy
Samuel Driggers
Sebastian Puerta
Taylor Withrow

Class of 2017
Kayla Alward
Kerri Andre
Maria Izzy Ceron
Trisha Dalapati
Ashley Huynh
Shreya Ganeshan
Ammishaddai Grand-Jean
Liana Mosley
Kavi Pandian
Sam Orr
Helen Woodland
Rachel Zilinskas 

Class of 2016
Sehar Ali
Tyler Daugherty
Noah Dezen
Maddie Dill
Mindy Griffith
Avery Kiren Hudson
Aneek Enrique James
Joshua Kenway
Hannah Mason
Reilly Megee
Mollie Simon
Nicholas Twiner

Class of 2015
Jessie Blaeser
Cali Callaway
Joseph Colbert
Jonah Driggers
Houston Gaines
Torre Lavelle
Bruce Li
Krystal Lo
Miranda Russell
Nicholas Salyers
Juhi Varshney

Class of 2014
Brittany Renee Arnold
Eilidh Geddes
Jamie Gottlieb
Shaun Kleber
John-Jordan Shockley Nunnery
Rachel Hana Paleg
Davis Reynolds Parker
Elizabeth Ridgeway
Andrew Andersen Roberts
Leslie Alexandria Stapley
James Robert Thompson
Michael Scott Trainer

Class of 2013
Victoria Barker
Femi Brinson
Callan Brownfield
Noel Couch
Nick Eberhart
Megan Ernst
Colton Houseman
Anna Konieczny
Kristen Lemaster
Ryan Slauer
Jacqueline Van de Velde
Avery Wiens

Class of 2012
Austin Blouin
Will Burgess
Smitha Ganeshan
Allison Gantz
Sandra Godina
Tucker Green
Michael Heider
Kaitlin Miller
Allison Moder
Marshall Mosher
Bennett Travers
Shannon Vreeland

Class of 2011
Ebony Faith Caldwell
Joseph Wells Ellenberg
Ty Frix
Jordan Dell Harris
David Wesley Jett
Bethany Cotten McCain
Carly Laine Nash
Rebecca Susan Pogue
Daryan Rahimzadeh
Taylor Watts

Class of 2010
James H. Beach
Alexandria Chambers
Carolyn Crist
Joshua Delaney
Hannah Drum
Rebecca DeVoe Elliott
Will Ginn
Jason A. Hafford
Sarah Christian Haynes
Alex G. Hill
Ryan J. Hill
Hunter Hodge
Eric Johnson
Caleb J. Keith
Meghan McFerrin
Rachel Elizabeth McLocklin
Frances Micklow
Blake Mitchell
David William Okun
Danyelle J. Reynolds
Robert D Sinyard III
Christina Swoope
Michael Blake Tillery
Laura Warren

ODK Contact Information

Office of the Dean of Students
325 Tate Student Center
Athens, Georgia 30602

Phone: 706-542-7774

Co-Presidents: Landon Clark ( and Stephanie Cannon (
Vice President: